Work has been a lot more amusing and interesting this past week, as I feel like finally Cyril, Emilie and Nathalie have realized that I am very competent and efficient. I was done the brand research for Emilie soon after lunch and was just rigoler-ing on Facebook, blogs and gchat, when Cyril asked me what I was doing. After bullshitting that I was doing something for Gigi, I asked if he needed anything. He asked me to look at these logo's that we had received from three different graphic designers for a new client and to give him my feedback. The three designers could easily be ranked from professional to amateur. I decided at this point, I felt comfortable enough to give him my straight honest opinion - and not sugarcoat it. I clearly told him that the logos of the amateur designer were all môche. We both ended up choosing the same top design. The presentation to the client is this afternoon. I look forward to hearing what she says. The chances that she chooses one of the logos done by the amateur is very likely - as that is what usually happens. This is what ended up happening for that rock compilation album we did a few weeks ago.
As I was rigoler-ing, I asked JP to recommend me another "French" drink that I must try. The last one he recommended was the demi pêche - like a Monaco but with peach syrup...so good. This one is called a Polac. It is made with vodka, sparkling wine/champaign, grenadine and sucre en poudre. I understood all the ingredients except for the last one - sucre en poudre. The direct translation is powdered sugar which made me think of icing sugar. I asked him to explain sucre en poudre. This got the whole office involved trying to explain it to me. They couldn't believe I didn't understand. It came to the point where Cyril went to our kitchen took a sugar cube and came to my desk and began turning it into sucre en poudre on my cahier. IT WAS GRANULATED SUGAR!!! not icing sugar...simply white sugar you use for your coffee!!! Oh the French and their names pour les differents trucs.
Ahhh c'est excellent, génial, incroyable ! ! !
I am constantly made fun of at the office for my use of excellent and incroyable. Typically they are not commonly used words in everyday French. I use them rather than tres bien. I have gotten everyone in the office to start doing the same...its so GREAT!
Tonight I'm having drinks with Paula and Gigi. I am also finishing packing for London, as I'm leaving tomorrow night to go and visit my friend George. Im super excited because I've only been once before and it was with my father. We had a great time, but it will be different this time because I will actually be able to see London with someone who is from there. I have no wants or needs in terms of seeing anything, just to explore and adventure.
I am taking the train tomorrow night around 7pm and come back on the 5am train Monday morning to be at work for 10am. This was the stupidest decision I made, as the 14th is the independence day for France - Bastille Day - and we don't have work. Thus, I should have taken Monday off and stayed over till the 14th in the afternoon. No worries, I have a wonderful picnic that Lindsay has planned for Bastille Day at Champs de Mars. There will be fireworks, drinking and eating - a MEGA TEUF!!!

No comments:
Post a Comment