It started at 7am when I was waken up by my mother as she was leaving my apartment in order to catch her flight to Florence. I helped her with her bags downstairs and then headed back into bed to rest some more. I re-awoke 'round 11am, had some breakfast and headed to the gym. There is a big difference from going to the gym at 7am to going on a Sunday at 12pm. The Club Med Gym website describes this time on Sunday as Dynamique and damn right it is. It is PACKED...something its not at the wee crazy hours I usually go. Anyways great workout and headed home to shower and wait for Gigi to come over. We had organized the night before that we would go and see a film with one of her friends Samuel.
She is a big fan of Kate Winslet and wanted to go and see The Reader. I had hear a lot about it as she won the Oscar for the film and was looking forward to it. What I didn't know until she arrived at my place, was firstly, the cinema was in the 15th arrondissement (quite far from where I live - Metro Ballard - at the end of the line) and the reason we had to go to that one was that it was where the film was being shown VF. In France there are two different types of films at movie theatres - VO and VF. VO means version original, which means that there are subtitles and VF means version français, which means it is dubbed. I have a prejudice against dubbed films, as I cannot stand when the lips move a different way from the words you hear, so I was a little worried to see this film that way.
My father had told me that the cinemas in France are completely different from the cinemas in the US or Canada and as a result I was super excited to go and see what was different. Thanks Dad for getting me excited for nothing more than a dubbed American film in a cinema that looked like the Regal Union Square! I think what my Dad meant was the old French cinemas that show old French films, because there was nothing special in this one. Anyways, I found myself quite shocked at the end of the film. Firstly it was a very good movie, a little long, but very good. Kate Winslet was brilliant, as she always is. But most importantly, I found myself not bothered at ALL by the dubbing! I think the reason why is because I am much more comfortable now with the French language then I have ever been. I have discovered that now rather than thinking in English before speaking French I think in French - it really makes a difference! I have yet to dream in French. Granted I don't even remember my dreams in English, so I think I might have a little trouble.
After the film, we headed back to my area and to Metro Abbesses as we were meeting Paula for a drink at a resto near there. We chatted and had some verres along with some camembert au miel and parted ways. What a nice way to spend the early evening.
A friend of Paulas who I have bonded with recently over music - Selim, was coming over and we had a very agréable evening sharing our new music discoveries of the week.
Tomorrow its back to the boulot. This week is going to be pretty intense I imagine, as Cyril will be leaving Friday for his Paternity leave as his wife is almost due. This means that once he leaves work will get a lot more stressful! I look forward to seeing what this week brings.
Now time for some major zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz..........

No comments:
Post a Comment